The poverty in being single

You got a fast car
I want a ticket to anywhere
Maybe we make a deal
Maybe together we can get somewhere
Anyplace is better
Starting from zero got nothing to lose…

You got a fast car
I got a plan to get us out of here
I been working at the convenience store
Managed to save just a little bit of money…

I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone…

Growing up, I don’t remember wanting to “be someone.” As a woman, I’m not sure I had too many options. Especially if I choose to be single.

You got a fast car
We go cruising, entertain ourselves
You still ain’t got a job
And I work in a market as a checkout girl
I know things will get better
You’ll find work and I’ll get promoted
We’ll move out of the shelter
Buy a bigger house and live in the suburbs

You got a fast car
I got a job that pays all our bills
You stay out drinking late at the bar
See more of your friends than you do of your kids
I’d always hoped for better
Thought maybe together you and me find it
I got no plans I ain’t going nowhere
So take your fast car and keep on driving

You got a fast car
Is it fast enough so you can fly away?
You gotta make a decision
Leave tonight or live and die this way

Being single is expensive. Rent is cheaper with a roommate. Tax laws favor not only the rich, but also those who are married. (Because religion.) Insurance is the same way. Everything is cheaper when you’re married.

When you think about it, most married people are financially better off than single people. This is enough of an incentive for some women to marry just about anyone with a pulse and an income. These days, I guess things aren’t that different for men.

Being single is one of the ways I manage my pain. For some, it’s easier to manage pain (and life) with a partner. I find that taking care of myself is a full-time job. I don’t have the strength to take care of anyone else. But, am I willing to find and marry someone just to better my financial condition? Seems like women don’t have a lot of options these days to make it on their own, like Mary Tyler Moore had taught us:

2 thoughts on “The poverty in being single

  1. Love this cd!!!…still have it hehe…
    How you been gurly gurl???…
    you seem quite these days or have I just missed your posts???
    just making sure that you are doing ok my gurl…
    Hugggs
    Suzette☻☻

    Liked by 1 person

If you don't comment, I'll just assume you agree with me