Please support pain patients

http://www.rawstory.com/2016/06/the-new-reefer-madness-hysteria-against-opioids-wont-help-patients-who-suffer-from-chronic-pain/comments/#disqus

This is a great article supporting pain patients, with numerous stories of what we’re going through in the comments. Please support those who suffer with chronic pain by supporting this website and the author of this article. Gracias.

Craig’s List is unsafe for women

Yes, I troll Craig’s List for posts about cannabis, but they are few and far between. I would even call them very rare. What you will mostly find on Craig’s List is people (and prostitutes) seeking sex. Seriously, I’ve never seen so many dick pics in one place.

Lately, I’ve been posting ads on Craig’s List warning women about the men I’ve had contact with through that site. Although Craig’s List has no problem with all the disgusting ads posted on its website (including posts about rape and underage sex), it has begun to censor my warnings to other women. I think this is wrong and discriminatory, but it’s not like I can do anything about it.

There are dangerous men on Craig’s List, and I’ve heard from numerous women in response to my warnings who agree with me. If you’re seeking anything on Craig’s List, please be very, very careful, especially if you’re a woman.

If the drug war was over, I wouldn’t have to stoop to things like this. Thanks, DEA.

Prince’s pain exploited

theinfluence.org/the-medical-report-shows-fentanyl-and-that-media-narratives-around-princes-death-are-deadly/

My comment:

“Prince was unlikely to have been prescribed fentanyl, a very powerful synthetic opioid originally created for palliative care…”

As a long-term intractable pain patient, I was prescribed fentanyl, because pain doctors prefer to prescribe pain medications that last longer than 4-6 hours. But the nausea was so bad, I only tried the patches a couple of times. I didn’t get any pain relief from fentanyl, only nausea and dizziness.

It seems that Prince was using painkillers as a way to combat his shyness, social awkwardness, and stage fright. And then later, for his chronic pain. While I don’t agree with treating anxiety with painkillers, I’m guessing that anti-anxiety medications probably slowed Prince down — if he ever tried them — which would seriously interfere with his ability to perform.

After 25 years of treating my pain within the medical industry, I’ve given up on doctors, too. So, I understand Prince’s phobia about doctors, as I now avoid them at all costs. I also understand Prince’s need to manage his pain on his own, not relying on whether a doctor would disagree with Prince’s own choices to treat his pain. I think many pain patients try to hoard their medications as much as possible, knowing that at any time, they could be cut off. The treatment of pain has nothing to do with the individual in this country — doctors make decisions based on their own fear of the DEA and decisions by insurance companies.

What killed Prince? I think his inability to manage his pain killed him. He tried for so long to do this on his own, but his decisions were based on the amount of relief he obtained, not medical science. As many pain patients can tell you, Prince was addicted to pain relief, not the drugs. And I think he would be horrified at how his pain is being exploited by the opioid war.

Rest in peace and pain-free, Prince Rogers Nelson. And tell Robin Williams we miss him.