ABC News Investigation Into Counterfeit Prescription Drug Operations in the US

Counterfeits … they’re everywhere…. everywhere …

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/abc-news-investigation-counterfeit-prescription-drug-operations-us/story?id=31077758

A year-long ABC News “20/20” investigation uncovered numerous operations involving the sale of dangerous counterfeit prescription drugs, many of which were sold under the guise of being authentic medication shipped in from Canada, or sold openly on the streets, Flea Markets, or retail stores in Los Angeles.

For the past year, an ABC News’ “20/20” investigation team has been working behind the scenes with U.S. Homeland Security, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, FBI, Los Angeles Police Department, the L.A. Sheriff’s department, among other law enforcement agents to investigate the prevalence of counterfeit goods being sold across the United States. These items range from everyday home goods such as bicycle helmets and perfumes, to more dangerous fakes, such as airbags and prescription drugs…

Under comments:

Gail Fiorini Reston, VA, on May 16, 2015 at 7:03 am said:
I received a supply of a medication with NONE of the active ingredient in it from a mail order pharmacy that my insurance company made me use. I took it to my doctor when it didn’t work. Thought I was correct, not only was no investigation done, but the insurance company would not pay for a replacement prescription. And no, this was not a pain or anxiety medication or anything you would expect for this sort of thing. It was a problem with the cheapest generic drug–cheap because they left the medicine part out of it.

PWB, on May 16, 2015 at 7:31 am said:
That is so scary. I’ve used the mail order pharmacy thru my insurance company too, and they are 90 day scripts. Last time and this time have been like pulling teeth to get them. This article and another one tells me, it’s not worth saving that little bit of money. I need to log in and get all my info off there. They auto refilled one med because it was less than $100 – problem is? My dosage was increased a few days after they sent it and they wouldn’t let me stop it. So I’m stuck with it and need the higher dose. It’s thyroid med, you can’t just cut a pill in half and add to what you take. Things are getting so bad. Do these places want to help us at all?

If you don't comment, I'll just assume you agree with me