Is your bud dealer ripping you off?

There are many ways to determine how much you’re spending when you buy medical cannabis.

First, you have the price per gram and by ounce. It’s usually cheaper to buy an ounce in the underground market, but the law in New Mexico doesn’t allow dispensaries to give a discount when you buy in quantity.

It takes about a gram (usually less) to make a joint (unless you want to smoke mostly paper). But to analyze cost, I use this one gram per joint measurement.

So, let’s say I recently paid $260 for an ounce. That’s $9.28/gram. Not too bad. However, when you take into account the amount of bud that’s left after cleaning (and before rolling), that price per gram isn’t accurate.

I’ve been using the same glass jars to store my bud for years, so I know what an ounce looks like, even though I don’t have a scale. (Yes, I need a scale, but I also need a haircut.) Let’s say this $260 ounce may have been a little short in weight, but I don’t know by how much.

It took me a week to smoke this ounce. I rolled 16.5 joints out of this alleged 28 ounces (which is about 2 joints per day). And that works out to $15.75 per joint/gram, which is really a $441 ounce.

And this is one way you can tell if you’ve been ripped off. Being a nice person, I’d like to think that the problem may be with the scale. Being a realist, I’m pretty sure I got ripped off.

5 thoughts on “Is your bud dealer ripping you off?

  1. πŸ˜•πŸ˜’πŸ˜£πŸ˜¨πŸ˜  Arizona mmj is good, widely varying prices but if you know where to go you can get quality product for very reasonable. Plus they compete on daily specials. I’ve bought some terrible weed in CO lately. Expensive and not worth the powder to blow it to hell. My last purchase actually popped and crackled…a bad sign.

    If I smoked two joints a day I would be immobilized!

    Liked by 3 people

      • Aspirin is good stuff. When I was first diagnosed with lupus arthritis in 1983, NSAIDs had not yet been invented. Actually aspirin is the first generation NSAID. So I was treated with 12 aspirin tabs per day! Of course that led to a stomach ulcer and permanent tinnitus. Then I became allergic to aspirin. But hey, it’s still good medicine. I think I’ll rummage around and find my little vape now…time to get some relief from this fucking arthritis GAAAAAH I am so sick of dealing with constant unremitting pain, I could just SPIT

        Liked by 1 person

If you don't comment, I'll just assume you agree with me

