I’ve seen a few butterflies since I moved to Albuquerque, but not very many, and they were pretty small. Which is why I was happy to run into this beauty yesterday.

01DSC01670

But she wouldn’t be still long enough for me to get a clear shot.

02DSC01665 (2)

A young boy stopped to watch Madame Butterfly with me and I asked him if he knew how to talk to butterflies. I said I wanted the butterfly to know that I meant no harm, just wanted a photo. The boy sadly and earnestly replied, “no.” But I could tell he was going to Google “how to talk to butterflies” at some time in the future.

03DSC01666 (2)

I told him I had lived here for 3 years and this was the first time I’d seen a butterfly like this. He said he’s seen 6 or 7, and I asked, where do they hang out? He said by the duck pond. I guess I’ll have to look more closely the next time I visit Duck City.

DSC01668 (2)

DSC01670 (2)

Funny, I see plenty of stories about bees that are in danger, but none about butterflies. And yet, I see plenty of bees and hardly any butterflies. I smell a conspiracy. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Madame Butterfly

  1. Pretty little flutterbug! I’ve always loved butterflies. When I was a kid, I was a butterfly tamer, which really just meant I happened to catch them shortly after they emerged from their cocoons, and they’d dry their wings out while sitting on my hand.

    Liked by 1 person

If you don't comment, I'll just assume you agree with me

