Medicare owes me a refund check

http://www.theinfluence.org/graphic-availability-of-medical-marijuana-correlates-with-a-drop-in-prescriptions-for-other-meds/

A new study from the journal Health Affairs found that the availability of medical marijuana significantly correlates with lower rates of prescribing other drugs. The authors of the study, Ashley C. Bradford and W. David Bradford, looked at data on all prescriptions filled by patients with Medicare Part D from 2010 to 2013…

The researchers looked at prescribing patterns for medical conditions that states allow to be treated with medical marijuana, like anxiety, seizures and glaucoma.

In states where medical marijuana was legal, Medicare saved $165.2 million in 2013…

So in some ways, the cost has not been “saved” but rather shifted to patients, who must pay for marijuana out of pocket (and sometimes experience many other difficulties obtaining it). But one of the study’s authors explained that if medical marijuana became a regular part of patient care nationally, money would still be saved overall, because marijuana is cheaper than other drugs…

Bud is cheaper than other drugs? Even with insurance, I kinda doubt that. That is, unless you live in a state that has legalized, because prices are a lot lower in those states.

The highest reduction in prescribing other medications was seen for pain—highly relevant for those concerned about opioid prescribing levels. (The dramatic fall in pain medication prescribing should be taken in the context of the national decline since 2013)…

9 thoughts on “Medicare owes me a refund check

  1. I love these out of context infomercials.

    I prefer sativa to the amphetamine I’m prescribed for managing my dissociative symptoms.

    Sativa works just as well as the amphetamine so I take half the prescribed dose because I don’t like what amphetamines do to the body. Medication is always a trade off–even marijuana.

    But without medication I would lose weeks of my life.

    I continue to fill my prescriptions for the amphetamine because I can’t always afford the cannabis and because my condition fluctuates.

    So ,I have not reduced the number of prescriptions I fill, I’ve simply reduced the number of pills I take each day.

    As for the reduction in the overall use of opiods…You can’t even get a Vicodin from doctors who prescribed them as if they were aspirin just five years ago. I have knee pain that I self manage with low dose aspirin, and walking–and accepting that I’m in pain.

    I wouldn’t dream of asking my doctor for a pain killer because the last time I did (2015) this doctor who prescribed them for me in 2005 and gave me a dozen refills in half a minute treated me like I was a junkie…

    People are dying from opiod abuse so the solution is to deny them to everyone.

    I’m certain that five years from now someone will ‘discover’ a hidden epidemic of untreated pain and the rules will be loosened again.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I have a blogging friend who uses it for bipolar, and she says it works pretty good. I’m not sure it works as a pain reliever, but it does alter your mood. So, it can lift your mood when you’re depressed, and if you’re manic, I assume that it would slow things down. Just be careful of paranoia, something new users can experience at the onset. But if you take it slow, side effects should be very minimal.

      If you do decide to try it, let me know how it goes. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

If you don't comment, I'll just assume you agree with me

