Willie Nelson, where are you when I need you?

I spend a lot of time reading comments from other pain patients because that’s where the real stories are located, not in what is shamefully described as news these days. In these comments, there are plenty of patients advocating for medical cannabis. And while I’m also an advocate, I don’t believe in sugar-coating the reality of this industry.

Some pain patients advocate for replacing opioids with cannabis, apparently without even thinking about what that really means. Maybe these patients have no trouble affording an adequate supply of bud, and just don’t realize how difficult access can be when you’re poor and disabled.

Switching from opioids to cannabis is not an easy thing, and should be undertaken with as much preparation as possible (including financial). Tapering is essential. It will be a little easier for patients who rate their pain levels as moderate — like a 3, 4, or 5. But for patients who rate their pain over a 5, my recommendation would be a combination of a small amount of opioids with as much bud as you want.

I can’t help those patients who don’t have access to affordable and quality cannabis (which includes me). I read comments from pain refugees all the time, and the only advice I can offer is to move to a state with a program. But pick the program wisely, do as much research as you can, and don’t make the same mistakes that I did.

If I was rich, I would build an underground railroad for bud, transporting it all over the United States to help people like me. If black people could create an underground railroad for people, it can’t be too hard to build one for buds. Oh, I know underground drug markets already exist, but does one exist specifically for pain patients? Because I think our needs are a lot different than most other users.

Willie Nelson, where are you when I need you?

8 thoughts on “Willie Nelson, where are you when I need you?

  1. Hi. Good to meet you. I’ve got chronic pain going on fifteen years. Former pro athlete and exercise bulimic. Anyway, You get to feeling nothing will ever be normal again. I am trying suboxone. None of any of this is good. And Dr. Houry of the CDC who won’t answer my emails is not hopeful or helpful when she says, “Opiates should not be used for anything other than Cancer related pain.” In my book, ”
    #Noncancerchronicpainlivesmatter

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the first step in liberating pain “patients” is to stop calling ourselves “patients” as if we are defined by our relationship to the medical profession. It’s like an ex-slave identifying himself as a “slave” long after he’s been freed as if he is defined by his relationship with his former master. The medical system has done a great job enslaving us to profit and exploiting our need for pain relief. The reality is that we do not need doctors or Big Pharma to create and administer these drugs for us we can do so on our own, if only we had the right. Fighting for public control and unlimited access to drugs that are the biological legacy of the human race and not the property of some drug company or drug lord is the only struggle we should be waging

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, of course you’re right. And I try to call myself a survivor instead of a patient when I can. The goal of unlimited access to drugs is a lofty one — I just don’t know how realistic it is. Especially within my lifetime. But if the regulated drug industry keeps refusing to make quality drugs that are affordable and easily accessible, I’m gonna keep supporting the underground.

      Like

      • Even though I am conscious of the way I have been programmed to see people with pain as “patients” I still slip up and use the term. Brainwashing is quite effective even when you’re aware of it.

        As for full legalization of drugs I consider it to be inevitable. While so-called legalization advocates have been advising “baby steps” on the road to full legalization a couple of states just went ahead and legalized marijuana on their own. More and more people are waking up to the bullshit in our society thanks to the internet and I don’t believe the PTB will be able to maintain the fictions on which the drug war is based for much longer. The latest round of drug war hysteria over opioids is simply the medical profession trying to get out ahead of opioid legalization as they failed to do with marijuana, so that their monopoly on pain control and treatment won’t be threatened by yet another drug. The fact they are forced to establish a new ideological basis for prohibition that is based entirely on thin air and ignores all other sources of iatrogenic harm is a measure of their desperation and bias. Pretty soon people are going to notice that other drugs kill people too and wonder why nothing is done about the hundreds of thousands killed by medical errors every year.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I think there is a whole lot to consider when using any kind of pain medication.
    The medical marijuana is different than the underground stuff. Most of the medical grade is high CBD, it is low in THC.
    The recreational user doesn’t want that. They want to feel as high as they can, they don’t care about the pain control of it.
    Yes, THC can help you feel better, and people use it all the time to self medicate. and some strains you come across through the underground will have higher amounts of CBD. It’s always a crap shot as to what you are getting. You never know from one batch to the other if it is the same strain, so you can’t find one and say, hey, I’ll keep getting this “brand”.

    Legalizing marijuana would be an option for a lot of people. But far from all. Just as opioids is not the answer for all.

    There is no clear cut answer to what a person needs for pain. People are very different. Types of pain is very different. Advocating for one over the other is irresponsible. We as pain patients can only say what works for us, we can’t say what will work for another.

    I don’t live in a legal state. I can’t take opioids so that isn’t an issue for me.
    I do have a supplier. But as I said, it has more THC than I really want. I don’t want to get so high. It can trigger my vertigo if I get high. I only want it to help with the pain and mostly to stop the vomiting when I get so sick.
    I also never know what I’m going to get from one time to the next. It comes from the same person yes, but he isn’t the grower. One batch may help a whole lot the next batch makes me feel too off.

    I do find myself very lucky that I do have this friend to help me.
    But I have found that it doesn’t help my pain as much as I’d like before making me too high.

    Unfortunately, I can’t move. and I doubt that a state that has the stupid bathroom law is going to legalize any time soon.

    I’ve been away from reading blogs lately because of severe vertigo, so I’ve probably rambled here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think every medical cannabis patient’s experiences are different, from city to city, state to state. For instance, some of my connections say that sativas are popular, while others say that customers are asking for strong indicas (like me). It all depends on your customer base.

      And I know how different it is to get your pills at a pharmacy compared to trying to work with growers and dispensaries. It’s a lot easier in states like Colorado and California, but there are still lots of hurdles for people to overcome. The more I’ve learned about cannabis, the more I’ve understood that I can’t expect this drug to be like a pill. I’m trying to learn to appreciate the times when I’ve found bud that works for me, and be patient when it’s not as good. (Unfortunately, patience is not one of my virtues — my pain won’t allow it.)

      On a few occasions, I’ve used strains that could cause a little nausea, which to me meant they were a little too high in THC, or maybe that there wasn’t enough CBDs to counteract that side effect. I don’t totally understand how to transfer THC percentages to milligram dosages, but it seems like this would be the easiest way to determine the right dosage. In fact, there are some producers and growers who are perfecting this process with different products like cannabis pills, suppositories, and patches. Sadly, it will take some time for these products to be accessible for everyone.

      I know that some cannabis advocates have tunnel vision and can be pushy and rude. I’m sorry you’ve experienced that. Seems like the cannabis industry has to demonize other drugs like alcohol and opioids to get their point across, when that’s really not necessary anymore.

      Like

If you don't comment, I'll just assume you agree with me

