Well, not everyone, but since I live alone, I am everyone.

DSC00532.0

My mother used to tell people, Johnna likes chicken. And she likes chicken. And she also likes chicken.

What can I say? I really love chicken. And being without it makes me sad.

But I found an amazing surprise in my mailbox today (which I don’t check very often). It was a lovely card from my amiga, Lisa at Life of an El Paso Woman. If you’re not following her blog, you should. It’s real easy, just click here:

http://lifeofanelpasowoman.com/

When I opened the card, something fell out:  it was green and looked suspiciously like money. (Although I’m not the best judge of what money looks like.)

Guess what it was! Go on, guess!

It was chicken money! I mean, money to buy chicken!

DSC00540 (2)

Both Lisa and Kara (follow her too, at https://polishingdookie.wordpress.com/) sent me private emails with offers of chicken money, which I promptly refused. But Lisa went ahead and sent it anyway, and no doubt Kara would have also — if she had my address. 🙂

Now’s probably a good time to also thank Lisa for the chocolates she sent me at Christmas. Have you ever had See’s Candies? I think it’s a Texas brand. I shaved those chocolates and baked them in several batches of cookies (some which didn’t turn out, embarrassingly and unfortunately).

And as soon as I take a nap, I’ll be heading out the door with the chicken money in my grubby little hands. The making of a huge pot of chicken soup will then commence, and I’ve already promised Lisa that she’ll be able to smell it in El Paso.

Friends are great, aren’t they? Gracias, mis amigas. 😀

DSC00464.0

The famous ball trees, in my back yard.

Have I mentioned that I really love chicken? 🙂

(Photos taken 1/30/2016 and 2/2/2016.)

17 thoughts on “Thanks to Lisa, chicken soup for everyone!

  1. Yum that sounds good, minus the onions! I think they have See’s there in Albuquerque. Well when I used to live there they had a store in the mall. I got some of the same chocolates for myself and they were very good! We don’t have See’s over here. They’re some of my favorite chocolates so I wanted to share some!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pot pies anyone???… the limit is endless with chicken..
    So happy to hear that you seem to have some great friends in your life”Yeah I’m jealous’ I really am to have a friend or two to care and talk like that…special gurl you are for sure I knew that the first time we spoke 🙂
    To be honest when I read the blog that you did about not getting chicken this month I was hoping it was more of a joke but I did not know for sure so it stayed with me make me think hey this chicka may not have real food and that hits home and not just that I do not believe anyone here in the USA should be without food ..END OF STORY!!… But we know first hand it does happen…
    All I know these times do suck azz hairs and I wish that I did have your address not that I have money but you know maybe a note or something 😉 or something….Something maybe that I can do due…not to be confused with doo doo…
    Also that is bullshit about the apartment you live in and the others paying cheaper rent for a bigger place and and ………BULLSHITT!!!!…
    I hope you can look into a lawyer free of course or someone to help you straighten that out or get into a better place for YOU…or hell lets just all of us move into the same place at least all of us would not be able to have chicken together…..
    Hang in there my dear sunshine… thinking of you
    Suzette

    Liked by 1 person

  3. El programa plata para pollo es perfecto (I like alliteration). Well done, Lisa you are a true friend!

    I still think a GoFundMe to raise money for your move may be a good idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had to look up the word alliteration. 🙂 And dude, I’ve seen GoFundMe sites… It’s… embarrassing. It reminds me of a popularity contest, although I’m sure they help a lot of people. I just can’t do it.

      Like

If you don't comment, I'll just assume you agree with me

